Friends of The Mines of Spain

We accomplish many great things as the Friends of the Mines of  Spain. Volunteers of the Friends of Mines of Spain staff the EB Lyons Interpretive Center and support the park through volunteer hours and donations.

Auditorium, facility and pavilion rentals can be made by calling the Lisa at the Swiss Valley Nature Center at 563-556-6745

2023 Joan and Howard Higley Bus Scholarship Application – this allows school groups to come to the park. 

Mission Statement
To support, promote and enhance the activities, programs and resources of the EB Lyons Interpretive Center and the Mines of Spain Recreation Area

Support the decisions at the Mines of Spain
Inform the public about the benefits of the Mines of Spain
Assist park by volunteering
Locate funding and materials for projects
Encourage others to enjoy the Mines of Spain
Assist in educational programs

Benefits of becoming a member:
Be invited to special events
Participate in projects and other aspects in the Mines of Spain
Be involved in the Friends annual meeting and other events
Become familiar with Mines of Spain
Meet others interested in preserving the Mines of Spain
Receive newsletters and updates

Please join the Friends of the Mines of Spain today!
To become a friend and member:
Please fill out the information below and print.
Printable Friends Membership Form here

Online donations and other giving options are available
on our Giving Page

*NOTE: The officers and directors of the Friends of the Mines of Spain are not compensated. Park Ranger and the Park Manager are State of Iowa
DNR employees at the Mines of Spain Recreation Area. EB Lyons Center is managed by Dubuque County Conservation.

Friends of The Mines of Spain, 8991 Suite B Bellevue Heights Rd., Dubuque, IA 52003-9214, 563-556-0620

All information contained within, Copyright 2024 Friends of the Mines of Spain, with special permission from the Iowa Department of Natural Resources.

Board Members

Jennifer Tigges, President
Joe Hesselman, Vice President
Jeremy Woolf, Treasurer
Sandra Hyman, Secretary
Wayne Buchholtz, Director
Christine Burns, Director
Joe Dolan, Director
Ann Ernst, Ph.D., Director
Mike Gibson, Director
Jessica Hanson, Director
Gerda Preston-Hartman, Director
Bill Meyer, Director
John Nemmers, Director
Rudy Pruszko, Director
Jim Rolling, Director
Melissa Sendt, Director
Mary Jo Shear, Director
Ronald Tigges, Director
Nancy Wright, Director

Elli Lineburg, Park Manager
Jason Gilmore, Park Ranger
Brian Preston, Dubuque County
Marie Ware, City of Dubuque